Kansas City Half Marathon

I finished my first half marathon yesterday, 13.1 miles!! I felt so accomplished! It was the furthest I’ve ran, ever, and I never allowed myself to stop. I ran at a pace of 11:12 per mile, finishing in 2 hours, 26 minutes, 37 seconds.

The night before the race Darrell and I went to Thai Place, a local Thai restaurant.

Delicious Thai Food!

Delicious Thai Food!


I had vegetable stir fry with chicken. It came with a huge scoop of rice, just the carbs I needed before the race.
The morning of the race I was nervous. I woke up and it was 35 degrees! I put on my outfit I had picked out, and hoped I would warm up fast!
20131019_052011
I wore my Asics running shoes, knee high compression socks, running pants, a short sleeved shirt, a long sleeved running jacket, and ear muffs. All together I looked like this!
Before the race!

Before the race!


It was a cold one to get started, however, with my race nerves, it didn’t affect me much. The only thing I wish I had was a pair of gloves on. I am that runner that always runs with a bottle of water in my hands. One day, I’ll get a backpack, or something more fancy, but for now, I’m content with my bottle in my hands. It benefited me because while others were stopping at the water stations, I just continued running through the middle. I did grab a Gatorade at two of the stations, but I kept going through the stations and drank while on the run! Although my time may seem slow to all the all star runners, I felt very pleased that I finished before 2 hours 30 minutes, which I thought would be my goal for the next half I’m running in April! I guess I’ll need to come up with a new goal for that one soon!
Here I am after the run, headed for some breakfast:
Knees were the only thing sore!

Knees were the only thing sore!


The only thing that started bothering me around mile 10-11 was my left knee. I knew it was just because I’d never pushed my body that far, so I pushed through the pain and made it! After breakfast at Kate’s Kitchen, we went home, I stretched, and iced my knees.
I feel really good about myself today, and I cannot wait to start training for my next half in April!

Leave a Reply

